top of page

Stacks on Stacks on Stacks!

Updated: Apr 28, 2020

The times of old fashioned, skinny, and bland pancakes are officially over. The brunch scene in America has taken off in my recent memory to new heights that I didnt even know were possible. It seems every spot has some kind of specialty stack that attempts/ is meant to send your tastebuds on an enjoyable rollercoaster of flavor. If you follow my page (which I mean, how else would you be on this blog?), then you would know that I am constantly on the hunt for the greatest stack of pancakes. I believe that hunt already ended, as far as United States stacks go (Chez Ma Tante in Brooklyn), but I always wonder, what about stacks outside of the country? Those thoughts over the past couple years led to extensive research into creating a huge bucket list for the Japanese Soufflé style stacks, like the one pictured below. These jiggly, pillow-like, fluffy cakes are untouchable when it comes to texture and softness, and man oh man, there are tons of spots for them all over Japan and even Thailand. But have no fear because I believe it's only a matter of time before these spots start making their way to the states, just like these below from Taiyaki in New York City's Chinatown.

This very well known Japanese ice cream shop just started releasing stacks on February 15th, 2019, and so far, they have been nothing less of a home run! Pictured above is the classic stack, which is one of two options (the other being a matcha stack). Coming in at around the size of 2 stacked hockey pucks, these cakes had my tastebuds running wild from the second I stepped foot in the door at 11a.m. The process of making them had the whole place smelling like an incredible brunch spot that produced insane pancakes, so that had my mouth watering the way it is. The first bites? Magic. As I already stated, so fluffy, so moist, so thick, and so flavorful. Like all great stacks, these could have been eaten without syrup. Now that's saying something. The presentation was great, the taste was great, and they way it sat in my stomach was great. Thick, but not that heavy, so it didn't mess up my day of eating afterwards. I mentioned that the throne for pancakes is already taken, but this stack was legendary enough to push itself into my top 10 based off the nostalgia from the experience alone. I highly recommend that you go and get your hands on these as soon as possible. They are released in batches of 100 or so and the doors open at 11.


Locations and Hours(as per their site):


MON-THR 12:00-10:00PM FRI-SAT 11:00-11:00PM SUN 11:00-10:00PM


MON-THR 1:00-11:00PM FRI-SAT 1:00-1:00AM SUN 1:00-12:00AM



MON-THR 1:00-10:00PM FRI 1:00-11:00PM SAT: 12:00-11:00PM SUN 12:00-10:00PM


SUN-THR 12:00-10:00PM FRI-SAT 12:00-11:00PM

93 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page