top of page

The Scarr of the Show?

Updated: Apr 28, 2020

Writing the Paulie Gee Slice Shop article before this post really had me thinking, and stirred up some debate and emotion in my mind that I want to be blunt about: Scarr's Pizza is absolute greatness, the NYC Pizza scene is stacked, and I may have been all wrong about their pizza scene all along.

Scarr Pimentel has another one of those spots that is truly one of a kind. I feel like I say this all the time, but as I explore, I find more of that "one of a kind"greatness. It too, is also set up to mirror what old school NYC pizza shop was like back in the day. Some would say that Scarr's Pizza started the trend of brining back the old school shop feel to the NYC pizza scene, but ill leave that conversation for another time. Either way, it works, and the vibe is perfect. To me, Scarr's is an attitude, it's a mantra, and it's bigger than pizza. Scarr's Pizza is New York. One thing I love about Scarr and the shop, is the no shortcut, and no bullshit philosophy they have. It allows the final product to be just that: without bullshit & without corners cut, and that leads to excellence. In other words, from crust to sauce, it's perfect. Something worth noting, is that they mill their own flour in the shop, and when they don't, they are going through a local spot in upstate NY. Go figure, we have another pizza owner who doesn't believe in flour that is jam-packed with chemicals/bleached out, and he just so happens to be in the running for my favorite pizza spots of all time. Is there a coincidence/correlation between my favorite spots, and those very spots having owners who give a shit? I think not. As previously mentioned, Scarr's also has the very old and rustic feel inside it's shop. As you walk in, you'll see a small counter space for pie, an old ass oven, and a small breezeway that'll cram you in like sardines on a busy day. You can walk to the back where there is additional seating and a bar if you want, but I like the feeling of ordering and waiting for that slice at the counter or outside. Walking away with a slice from this place has me smiling from ear to ear. It's "money" every time, it's extremely affordable, and I just love to visit. As for the pizza, no flop. The dough, which I'm pretty sure is a cake yeast tastes incredible. The sauce? - full of flavor, and yet another plug for my boy Ezzo Sasuage for those amazing pepperonis on top. There's not much else to say here. It gets busy, so don't think twice if its worth waiting for, because it is. They take card, and you WILL leave satisfied. Take may word for it, Scarr's Pizza is an absolute GOAT.


Here is a recent video from Eater to give you more of an inside look:



Hours:

Monday - Thursday: 12PM - 11PM Friday - Saturday: 12PM - 12AM Sunday: 12PM - 10PM

Location: 22 Orchard Street

New York, NY 10002

(212) 334-3481

144 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page